No Regrets Just Trial & Error

Since my car accident in April, I’ve had plenty of time to do some reflecting on everything I had gone through; particularly in the last year. Looking back I can’t say I was exactly proud of every moment, and I can’t say my life was going exactly as planned; but what I can say is that despite my troubles and failures I have no regrets.

“No regrets: just trial and error” is a new saying I’m starting to incorporate into my life.  Trial and error is exactly what life is about. Sometimes you get it right, sometimes you get it wrong. Either way we can’t do any of it without God. Ultimately those failures can become the blessings that help teach us valuable life lessons.

As much as I’ve went through in the last year, I look back and thank God for the road traveled. It wasn’t the perfect path, but along the way I learned a lot about myself . It seemed at the time some of my worst days were the hardest obstacles in my life I thought I would never conquer. But look where God has brought me now?! Still not perfect, maybe even still a work in progress, but I’m a stronger person for what I went through. I wouldn’t take back any of my bad experiences because they ultimately helped me to grow. I have nothing in my past to be ashamed of because God has shown me that there is life beyond my pain, my emotions, my failures & mistakes. Everything happens for a greater reason; some reasons become clear later on and some reasons we may never know even after the fact.

Regret is a word meant for the devil because he wants you to feel like you messed up when something doesn’t go as planned. He wants you to feel bad for your failures, he wants you to feel guilty for what you’ve done so that it becomes hard for you to forgive yourself and move on. But really there’s no need in feeling guilty about “shoulda, coulda wouldas.” Trust me.  While you’re busy beating up yourself for that mistake, God had forgiven you a long time ago. Sometimes a closed door can save you from something God knows you’re not prepared to handle. Although it may seem like a “no” to you from God, He may be trying to tell you something else.

It took a car accident and a broke knee for me to realize that blessings aren’t always what we think. Most people assume that blessings are only the good or successful things that happen. But truthfully a blessing can come from our mistakes as well. Sometimes not even God will allow our mess ups to change his plans, and sometimes we end up standing in the way of our own blessings. Sometimes the bad things that happen to us, turn out to be some of the best things that would’ve happened to us. For me that was my car accident in April.

My car was totaled, I lost my job, my knee was broken, I had to have surgery, and I’ve been unable to walk since April. Not to mention even though I was broke at the time, I still had bills to pay. At first I can’t even lie, I was angry. I was hurt and confused by God.  I felt like everything had slipped away from me all at once and I had officially hit rock bottom. The most low moment of my life. My worst days before were nothing compared to how I felt after my accident.

However since my accident I’ve found so much more peace in my life and I haven’t had time to get caught up in distractions. I started writing again and God forced me to deal with everything I had been trying to avoid for months. I’ve had a much more positive outlook on life, and I’ve had more time to mend my relationship with God. The car accident forced me to look at the bigger picture. I was slipping away, getting further from God and because I’d become stubborn, it took extreme measures to get my attention. I had been searching for peace for months, only to have found it now when I truly needed it most.

Despite my current situation I still have no regrets. Life is about learning; trial & error. There are no right or wrong answers. Don’t be afraid of the failures. Trust God and step out on faith. Remember, even when things don’t turn out as planned, take every opportunity as a lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

