Superwoman

 I can remember being in fourth grade writing an essay on why I thought my grandmother should be president of the United States. My grandmother is a real life superwoman.  I love this woman to death and I wanted to take the time out to share with others how much of a blessing she has been in my life. My grandmother has been there for me more times than I can count in the last 21 years of my life.

It’s because of my grandmother that I have been able to get through some of the toughest moments of my life. Recently she has been doing soooo much to help out since my car accident. In the beginning when I felt like I had lost everything and all hope; my grandmother was there with an encouraging word. She had faith and hope for my situation even when I didn’t. When I was disappointed in myself, she saw something else in me and encouraged me to push through the disappointment and learn a lesson. Some of  our biggest mistakes, turn out to teach us the most valuable lessons of life.

I think back to other mistakes and downfalls I’ve had and my grandmother has always been there to help me pick up the pieces and learn from my mistakes. Her love is truly unconditional. Sometimes I feel like words would never be enough to truly express my gratitude for her and everything she has done. She truly goes above and beyond sometimes, even when I’m really undeserving. Knowing that she believes in me is always the extra “umph” I need to keep going when I find myself discouraged.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I often say she’s my second mother. She’s as much of a mother to me as my own actual mother. I thank God for making her the amazing woman that she is and blessing her with a kindness that she has been able to share with others.  I’ve never seen anyone who has so much strength and  faith.  No one knows me like her.  She tells you like it is and doesn’t hold back. Her determination is inspiring. Since I can remember, I’ve always been a “granny’s baby.” My grandmother is like my best friend and role model. Seeing her do the things she does inspires me to not only be a better person, but most of all a better woman.

I believe that God puts certain people in our lives for a reason. Sometimes I think to myself that God must have made my grandmother my guardian angel because she’s always there to rescue me. Whatever it is the Lord has put in my grandmother I can only hope that 1/2 of it rubs off on me.  I often wonder if she’s always looking out for me, then who is looking out for her? I know that in the end God is truly going to bless her ten-fold for everything that she has been doing.  She has taught me so much about life and I wish there was some way I could share more of it with others, so that they too can see how much of a blessing my grandmother has been. One day I would like to be a role model for someone and set an example, the way she set the example for me.

 

2 thoughts on “Superwoman

Leave a Reply

