Stand Firm

Ever since the first episode of the Glee Project, I’ve felt inspired. Maybe it was because as a creative person, I admire those who go after their dreams. For those of you who don’t know what the Glee Project is, it’s a competition show on Oxygen where 12 young people get to compete for a chance to do a guest appearance on season 3 of Glee this fall. Each week contestants are given a challenge to complete along with a video shoot. Every episode,  three people are put in the bottom and one person is eliminated after doing a last chance performance in front of the judges  to save themselves.

Last night’s episode really hit home with me. One of my favorite contestants since the show began had been Cameron. For me Cameron was this kid who was awkward but cool. He seemed very comfortable with who he was and particularly his beliefs. During the show he was very articulate about his faith in God and how his mother raised him as a Christian. For the last few episodes Cameron was put in a tight spot because the challenges involved expressing sexuality and at times he felt it tested his beliefs and what he was comfortable with.

In last nights episode while doing a video shoot for Katy Perry’s “Teenage Dream” he decided not to kiss his partner  Hannah, which cost him being in the bottom 3.  This was the 3rd time he’d been in the bottom three for not  wanting to compromise his beliefs. But I wasn’t surprised. The shocking part is that after he did his last chance performance, he asked to go home. He told the judges he didn’t think that the show was for him anymore. I was very inspired by his conviction to stick to what he believed in. During the episode he even mentioned that he didn’t want to let the industry change who he was and that it was important he stick to his beliefs. The best part is that one of the judges went backstage to convince him to stay, and Cameron still decided to go home. The judge said to him “It’s a shame, your character could have touched a lot of people,” and soon as he said that in my mind I was like he just did, because this all hit home with me. After making his decision Cameron felt like he had no regrets and that something in him knew he would be alright.

After I saw this I wanted to shout! I could hear God speaking to me through Cameron’s situation. God was telling me to stop making compromises and to stand more firm in my faith. I have a problem with making compromises to make other people happy. But soon enough you make enough compromises and you start to change who you are. Cameron’s situation showed me that God comes first always. In the end although Cameron walked away from a great offer he felt like he was more proud with himself for standing firm in his beliefs and staying true to his faith.

In my own situation I feel like in the last year I’ve allowed a lot of things to change me and I’ve made a lot of compromises that have caused me to become someone I’m not always comfortable with. This summer since my car accident God has really been showing me that the person I was, is not who he made me to be. He has higher standards for me and I don’t have to settle just to please other people. In the end, people will always have their opinion about you, but their opinions don’t make or break you.

Cameron from The Glee Project

Below is the video of Cameron talking with Ryan Murphy about his decision to leave Glee Project

 

Leave a Reply

