Flattery Overload

For some reason, I’ve never been the type of girl to be easily won over by flattery. I’ve reached a point in my life where I’m very confident and comfortable in who I am. When guys compliment me, I often take it with a grain of salt. Most of the time I sense there’s an underlying motive behind their compliments. Granted I’m sure some of them are genuine, but it depends on what the compliment was and how it was said to me. Normally I respond pretty well to compliments, a simple thank you is usually my response.

However, the one thing that really bothers me is if a guy is constantly complimenting me on the same thing. If you said it once, don’t say it again! I got it the first time. Plus I’m pretty sure you aren’t the first person to compliment me on the same thing. I just feel like constant flattery means you’re trying too hard to impress me and you’re really just over doing it! This especially bothers me if I just met you. Then it seems like I’m being smothered if I get a text everyday about how “beautiful I am, and how you wish we would’ve spent more time together.” sheesh! *Pause!  I’m such a laid back and goofy person, there’s no need for all the extra to impress me. Just be cool, chill and be you. I can’t be won over by words. I’m the type of person who’s more concerned with a person’s actions anyways.

When a dude has to constantly compliment me it makes me wonder about his own sense of confidence. And it also makes me think he has this infatuation with me and I don’t like that at all. For me it’s a sure sign the dude may be getting attached too soon. (I’ve seen this happen way too many times in  my life with all the dudes I’ve run into.) I’m just Alex, nothing special. Really. I’m a human being. Don’t place me on a pedestal too soon and give me too much. It will not end well for you. This is a for sure way to turn me off!

I know this post may make me come off slightly cocky, but know that I’m really trying to aim for confidence. I learned a long time ago that I don’t need a guy to constantly confirm what I already know about myself. It would be nice if I actually heard a different compliment every now and then. I mean saying that I’m pretty, I’m beautiful, I’m smart, and that I have a great personality….it really doesn’t do it for me. Thank you, but dig a little deeper.

Leave a Reply

