Fighting for Me

Fighting for Me by Anthony Evans blessed my soul. I’ve been talking to my spiritual mentor the last two weeks about me fighting God about being in control of certain areas of my life. I opened up to her about how I’ve felt that I’ve had to fight to protect myself . At a young age , because of how I was raised, I always felt like things were out of control. So I built up a lot of internal mechanism to protect myself from pain and hurt and for years it made me feel safe.

But during our morning prayers we’ve been talking about letting God take complete control of my life. She’s been telling me that it’s okay to let my guards down and let God fight for me. That it’s okay to be a co-labor with God and that he wants the best for my life. But he can’t go against my will if I don’t let him inside.

I was randomly listening to the William McDowell station on Pandora and heard this song and had to pause what I was doing at work. I’m so grateful how God confirms things in his own way and how he uses even the smallest things to speak to us. He knows just how to hit home in the areas we need healing in.

When I looked up the lyrics I could’ve broke down in tears. The lyrics describe my current battle to the “tee.” God you are so great in all things.  I read the lyrics and they left me speechless. I know I’m not alone, because I can only imagine others who also struggle with letting God fight for them too. Especially if they’ve lived like me and are so used to defending themselves. To let your guards down can be hard. It seems scary not knowing what’s going to happen next or how, but the irony of it all is; we don’t have to know what’s going to happen next. All God wants us to do is follow him. God has the plan, so if we follow him then we will be included in the plan.

Man this song has really been a blessing to me this morning. During our prayer time this morning my mentor said the Lord gave her three words: embrace, endure, and yield. This is how we overcome our inward battle of trying to fight for ourselves: we must embrace God’s word and his way, we must endure with his word and his way so that we can be made whole, and we must yield to his truth so that everything can come full circle in our lives.

Lord, I thank you for consistently showing me who you are. How powerful you can speak through the most unexpected things. #amen

 

 

Fighting for Me lyrics

By Anthony Evans

When I first met you I must admit
I was fighting and losing
But I wouldn’t tell You ’cause
I knew that You’d take over
I wanted to undo all my mess
So it looked like I did it on purpose
You had my solution
But I knew that You’d take over

I wouldn’t let you in ’cause
I’d have to begin
To let it go
And I held onto my pride
Cause I wanted to be in control
But then You showed me

YOU’RE FIGHTING FOR ME
NOW I DON’T HAVE TO ANYMORE
YOU’RE LOVE IS HOLDING ME
WHEN I CAN’T HOLD ON ANYMORE
MY HEART WAS BREAKING
BUT IT DOESN’T HAVE TO ANYMORE
I DON’T DESERVE IT BUT YOU’RE SHOWING ME I’M WORTH
I’M WORTH FIGHTING FOR
I’M WORTH FIGHTING FOR

I’m glad I chose to do
Not what I felt but what was true
I finally did it cause I knew that you’d take over
I’m grateful now I see
This pain is the reason I believe
I think it’s incredible
How Your loss could win me over

I wanna let you in ’cause
I need to begin to let it go
And for my pride I apologize
‘Cause I know
You wanted to show me

CHORUS

The size of the fight
Is measure by the prize that will be won
You showed me what I’m worth
When You poured out Your love
And now I know (You’re fighting for me)
Now I know (You’re fighting for me)
So when my battle comes
My faith is strong because I’m not alone

CHORUS [2X]

Leave a Reply

