#FallingUpward -024- “Freedom in The Love of Christ”

” We know that our old sinful selves were crucified with Christ so that sin might lose its power in our lives. We are no longer slaves to sin.” Romans 6:6

Today was a day of freedom. In morning service at my church and at SUB 30 this evening, the topic was about being free from the things that keep us trapped in bondage. I love when God echoes himself and consistently confirms his word.

God has been really faithful today. Even before I went to SUB 30, I spoke with a friend of mine about fear that kept them from really pursuing God wholeheartedly and during the praise and worship at SUB 30, the worship team did Bethel Music’s “No Longer Slaves” and the song talks about not being a slave to fear, but being free as a child of God.

All weekend long, God has been working on freeing me from old habits, thought patterns, mindsets and breaking things off of me that keep me from trusting him in all areas of my life. God has reminded me to continue to focus on his love and seek him first. The more I focus on his love, I realize there’s so much freedom in simply loving God.

Part of loving God is seeking HIM, which I’ve mentioned in a previous post. “And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13

When you love God, not only are you free from sin, but you can be free from stress, worry, unforgiveness, fear, doubt, anger, anxiety….the list goes on. But with God ‘s love comes the privilege to take fear, doubt, anger, stress, unforgiveness etc. and give it to God to heal. When we cast our cares on God, it keeps us free from trying to live life out of our own strength. There’s freedom in knowing that God can be trusted, that he has the strength to heal and meet all our needs. There’s freedom in knowing he makes our burdens light when we cast our cares on him.

When God chose us, he chose us out of love to free us from the penalty of sin. Because we are no longer slaves to sin, we’re free to love HIM and grow in the purpose that he has for our lives. We’re free to have hope in God and all that he has for us.

If God be for us, who can be against us. There’s true freedom in the love of God knowing that God is always there. He will never leave us or forsake us. And this is what “Falling Upward” is all about. Being free enough to fall into the arms of God and his love.

Falling Upward….to be continued

Leave a Reply

