Guilty by Association

I recently heard the song “Guilty” by the Newsboys and immediately fell in love with it. This song makes a great declaration about our love for Christ. To some people it may seem radical to be willing to lay down your life for Christ, but the scripture says,

“Now if we be dead with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him” (Romans 6:8)  I believe this to be both a literal and spiritual confession.

Spiritually speaking, our “old man” must die when we decide to walk with Christ. He makes us a new creature and we’re given a new life to live. The person we were before meeting Christ, no longer should “rule” our mortal bodies. We don’t make decisions based on our “old” way of thinking and living before Christ. Our live is now lived, based on our new life in Christ.

Literally speaking, in other countries, there are people who could be put to death for publically professing they believe in Christ. There are people in other countries who are really living that radical for Christ, that they’re willing to sneak around to get to HIS Word. People, who have had their tongues cut out, acid thrown on them for the sake of professing Christ! Real life! Even in the Bible in Hebrews it talks about people who suffered until death and never even saw Christ’s return, but that they died still believing! 

That’s the kind of faith we should have. That’s the kind of faith that will remain standing. Even the scripture says:

And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death.” Revelation 12: 11
Even if we go down with Christ, in death we’ll rise again with him in Heaven!

The song is really awesome and I wanted to share it, hoping it inspired others just as it inspired me about continuing to build my faith in Christ. The more I walk deeper in my love journey with him this year, the more he opens things up to me about life and his purpose in what he has for me.

This song is one for the books, be sure to read the lyrics and view the video below.

Guilty Lyrics:

When did it become breaking a rule

To say your name out loud in school

When your names the only one that sets us free

When did it become incorrect

To speak the truth about life and death

When your life gave us all eternity

 

Pre-Chorus

Even if it gets me convicted

I’ll still be on my knees with my hands lifted

 

Chorus

If serving you’s against the law of man

If living out my faith in you is banned

Then I’ll stand right before the jury

 

If saying I believe is out of line

If I’m judged cause I’m gonna give my life

To show the world the love that fills me

Then I want to be Guilty

 

Verse 2

I’ll rise up and honor you

I’ll testify to all the good you do

cause your Grace and your Mercy have overtaken me

Pre-Chorus

So Even if it gets me convicted

I’ll still be on my knees with my hands lifted

Chorus

If serving you’s against the law of man

If living out my faith in you is banned

Then I’ll stand right before the jury

 

If saying I believe is out of line

If I’m judged cause I’m gonna give my life

To show the world the love that fills me

Then I want to be Guilty

 

Bridge

Guilty by association

Guilty of being a voice proclaiming Your ways

Your truth

Your life

I’ll pay the price to be your light.

Serving God does come with a price. But I’m always mindful that the reward is eternal.

Leave a Reply

